Hartmut Zabel – Curriculum Vitae

Academic Title:

em. Professor Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Hartmut Zabel


1969    Bachelor, University Bonn, Germany

1973    Master Physics, Technical University Munich, Germany

1978    Dissertation, University of Munich, Germany (summa cum laude)

Academic Positions

1978    Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Physics, University of Houston, Texas

1979    Assistant Professor of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana – Champaign

1983    Associate Professor of Physics, University of Illinois at U – C

1986    Professor of Physics, University of Illinois at U – C

1989    Chair, Professor of Experimental Physics/Solid State Physics, Ruhr-University Bochum and Adjunct Professor of  Physics, University of Illinois at U – C

Guest Positions

1985                Summer Guest Scientist, Brookhaven National Laboratory

1986                Guest Scientist, Risø National Laboratory, Denmark

1988                Summer Guest Scientist, Brookhaven National Laboratory

1993                Guest Scientist of the NIST Reactor Division, Gaithersburg, USA

1998                Guest Lecturer, University of Uppsala and KTH Stockholm, Sweden

2013 – 2018    Senior Research Guest Professor, University of Mainz, Germany and Uppsala University, Sweden


1971    Fellow of the Cusanus foundation

1982    Fellow of the Institute for Advanced Studies, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

1989    Fellow of the Japanese Society for the Promotion of Sciences

1993    Fellow of the Volkswagen foundation

1996    Election to Fellow of the American Physical Society

2001    Honorary Doctor of the Kings Technical University (KTH) Stockholm

2010    Elected “Outstanding Referee” of the American Physical Society

2012    Elected “Outstanding Referee” American Institute of Physics

2013    Mainz Research Award by the MAINZ Graduate School of Excellence

Professional Activities (Selection)

1986 – 1989      Department of Energy (DOE) Program Director, Materials Research Laboratory, UoI

1992 – 1999      Co-Chair of SFB 166 of the German Science Foundation

1992                  Member, Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee of the US DOE

1993 – 1995      Dean of the Department of Physics and Astronomy, Ruhr-Universität Bochum

1997 – 1999      Member and Chair, Subcommittee: Materials Science, Institute Laue-Langevin, Grenoble, F

1997 – 2011      Scientific Advisor for the German-Israeli Foundation for Scientific Research and Development

2000 – 2011      Chairman, Collaborative Research Center of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, SFB 491 “Magnetic Heterostructures: spin structure and spin transport”

2000 – 2014      Chair, German-Russian Collaboration “Tuning magnetic properties on different length scales”

2000 – 2003      Member of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the European Spallation Source Project ESS

2001 – 2006      International Advisor of the project “FRAM” University of Uppsala

2003 – 2005      Chair Scientific Council of the Swiss Intense Neutron Source (SINQ)

2003 – 2011      Co-Editor of the Elsevier Journal: Superlattices and Microstructures

2004 – 2008      Member, Scientific Advisory Committee of the Hahn-Meitner Institut, Berlin, later HZB, BESSY

2004 – 2011      Member of the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Research Review Panel

2005 – 2008      Chair, BMBF Committee “Exploration of Condensed Matter with Large Scale Facilities“

2005 – 2013      Member and Chair, Scientific Council Dynamitron-Tandem Facility at the Ruhr-University, Bo

2005 – 2011      Elected Member of the Committee “Research with Neutrons”

2007 – 2010      Chair of the Scientific Council, Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble

2007 – 2010      Member of the Steering Committee, Institut Laue-Langevin, Grenoble

2007 – 2012      Co-Chair BMBF review panel: “Exploration of Condensed Matter with Large Scale Facilities”

2007 – 2011      Member of the Danish Council for Independent Research Review Panel

2008 – 2011      Elected Member of the Committee “Research with Synchrotron Radiation”

2011                  Member of the DOE Review panel, Materials Science Division, Argonnen National Lab

2012 – 2018      Divisional Editorial Board Member of the APS journal “Physical Review Letters”

2013 – 2019      Advisory Committee Member for awarding the honorary title “Professor” in NRW, Germany

Further Professional Activities

Advisor and co-adviser of 51 dissertations, author and co-author of more than 500 research articles published in international scientific journals with stringent referee process; published more than 35 review papers and 8 books, including an undergraduate textbook on “Medical Physics” (first edition 2017, second edition 2023), organized 5 international conferences, advisory committee member and plenary or invited speaker of numerous national and international conferences, chief editor and editorial board member of several scientific journals, referee for many scientific international journals and funding agencies,  (list available on request). Faculty opponent at the Universities of Uppsala, Kopenhagen, Amsterdam, Leuven, Mainz, Leeds, Oxford.

Teaching Activities

Lectures provided on:  Physics I-IV, Condensed Matter Physics, Magnetism, Modern Physics, Medical Physics, Fundamentals of X-ray and Neutron Scattering, Science at Large Scale Facilities,  Guest Lecturer, HERCULES European Graduate School on “Neutrons and synchrotron radiation for science” 1990 – 2021.

Research Activities

Hydrogen in metals, graphite intercalation compounds, semiconductor heterostructures, metal superlattices and heterostructures, diffusion in solids, oxidation of epitaxial metal films, phase transitions, magnons, phonons, magnetism of thin films and heterostructures, proximity effects between superconductors and ferromagnets, spintronic materials, nanofluidics, magnetic x-ray and neutron scattering, magneto-optics, spin-ice, magnetic nanoclusters, odd-triplett superconductivity, time-resolved magnetization precession and magnetization reversal; antiferromagnetic spintronics.

Instrument Development

ADAM and Super-ADAM for polarized neutron scattering and reflectivity at the Institut Laue-Langevin, and ALICE for x-ray magnetic resonance scattering at the BESSY II synchrotron facility. Both funded by the BMBF.

Memberships of Professional Societies

German Physical Society (DPG); American Physical Society, fellow; European Physical Society; Materials Research Society (MRS)